Endless Skies by. Shannon Price | ARC Review

My Rating: 3/5 Stars

Title: The Endless Skies

Author: Shannon Price

Format: eBook (NetGalley)

Pages: 354

Publication Date: 8/17/21

Publisher: Tor Teen

Categories: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Shapeshifters

Disclaimer: **I received this book free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.**

A breakout standalone epic fantasy about shapeshifting warriors perfect for fans of Adrienne Young and Wonder Woman.

High above the sea, floats the pristine city of the Heliana. Home to winged-lion shapeshifters―the Leonodai―and protected from the world of humans by an elite group of warriors, the Heliana has only known peace.

After years of brutal training, seventeen-year-old Rowan is ready to prove her loyalty to the city and her people to become one of the Leonodai warriors. But before Rowan can take the oath, a deadly disease strikes the city’s children. Soon the warriors―including two of Rowan’s closest friends―are sent on a dangerous mission to find a fabled panacea deep within enemy lands.

Left behind, Rowan learns a devastating truth that could compromise the mission and the fate of the Heliana itself. She must make a decision: stay with the city and become a warrior like she always dreamed, or risk her future in an attempt to save everyone she loves. Whatever Rowan decides, she has to do it fast, because time is running out, and peace can only last so long… 

  • World Building ~ I found this kingdom of winged-lion shapeshifters quite unique. The Leonodai and humans are enemies but now the shapeshifters need their help but there is no help to be found. A group of warriors venture to the human side to find the cure for an illness affecting the young Leonodai.
  • Characters ~ this is Rowan’s story. We have 3 POV’s between Rowan, Callen and Shirene but it really was mostly told through Rowan. I liked Rowan, she was a warrior in training and ready to do what it took to get the cure to save her people.
  • Pace ~ This is a standalone novel and I think it moved along fairly quickly. We get right into the situation and then into the thick of things when the warriors need to get the cure. This was a quick read especially during the action parts.
  • Romance ~ I wasn’t into the romance triangle that Rowan was struggling through while there was an important mission taking place. Maybe if it was a duology or trilogy and we got to see more of Callen and Rowan’s history then I would have felt invested in it. In this standalone she has to make a choice so fast and I just didn’t care for it.
  • I think this had the potential to be much more epic than it was if the story was continued. Everything seemed rushed, especially the ending and I wanted more world building.
  • I thought Shirene, Rowan’s sister, would have a bigger role in the story since she is introduced before Rowan and with a big task it seems but she fades off as Rowan takes the spotlight.

Sometimes I wonder if I’m just not used to reading many standalone fantasy anymore since they always come packaged in a series. For a standalone, I thought this was okay. I didn’t care for the romance storyline and I wished some things weren’t rushed but for a light young adult fantasy, I think the world building is unique and that kept me interested in the story.

📚 ~ Yolanda

  One thought on “Endless Skies by. Shannon Price | ARC Review

  1. Joanna @ TheGeekishBrunette
    July 27, 2021 at 1:46 am

    This wasn’t the best read for me either! Standalones can be hard and sometimes they just need more development that one book can’t give. That love triangle was the worst for me, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • July 28, 2021 at 11:16 am

      I know what you mean! I think fantasies definitely need to be a series – and yes the love triangle was not needed haha.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Reading At Teatime

I read a lot, not just at teatime

Arts to Crafts

Fun Craft Ideas for All Ages

Read Betwixt Words

Books, Reviews, Recommendations and occasionally Poetry

The Fantastical World of Reading

Books | Reviews | Fantasy

THE CHRONICLES OF HISTORY

READING INTO THE PAST ... WELCOME TO MY HISTORY & BOOK BLOG!

%d bloggers like this: