A Lair of Bones (Curse of the Cyren Queen #1) by. Helen Scheuerer | Book Review

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️ 1/2

Title: A Lair of Bones

Author: Helen Scheuerer

Format: eBook (Kindle Unlimited)

Pages: 304

Publication Date: 7/13/21

Publisher: Alchemy

Categories: Young Adult, Fantasy, Sirens

A deadly contest. A vaulting ambition. How far will one cyren go to win?

Mighty cyrens have ruled the ancient lair of Saddoriel for centuries. A cavernous fortress, a subterranean labyrinth of tunnels and levels, powered by magic and music… 

From the moment she was born, Roh, the daughter of an infamous criminal, has been despised by her own kind. Restricted to the Lower Sector and forced to work as a common bone cleaner, she has always believed she belongs above: where lies adventure… and power.

Opportunity arises in the form of the Queen’s Tournament, a treacherous set of trials that could see the victor crowned ruler of the entire lair. Up against the most cunning, dangerous cyrens in all the realms, does Roh stand a chance?

A Lair of Bones is the first gripping book in the dark fantasy quartet, Curse of the Cyren Queen.

I went into this story kind of blind. I love how dark and ominous the cover looks and I don’t usually read many books about Sirens or Cyrens as they are spelled in this series, but I was needing something different and I’m glad I borrowed this one.

Rohesia, or Roh is the daughter of a criminal so it’s only natural that she wants to know why her mother did what she did, what really happened, and to do anything to get out of the Lower Sector. She can do all these things if she joins the Queen’s Tournament and wins it all – the winner becomes Queen. But the trials are not easy and she is assigned a human to keep alive at the same time. But Roh has it in her to win, even if she has to hurt the people she loves to do it.

Roh is a morally gray character – do I like her? I like the reasons for her ambitions but I also worry what power will do to her as well. I don’t know if I quite trust her fully to do the right things, since she shows she’s willing to do some wrong things to get her way. Her ambition stems from how she was brought up, at orphan, despised, marked and kept down in the lower sector. She wants more than that…as she should. The way she goes about it is suspect though but I’m hoping for more character growth…she’s already starting to get there with Odi, her human by her side. They have an interesting relationship and I want to see what happens with them and I don’t mean that in a romantic sense – there is no romance in this book, but if there somewhere in the next book, I won’t mind at all! Usually I need romance in my fantasy novels but I like this story as is right now.

I love the characters we meet in this story from Roh’s mom, her best friends, Odi, the Queen and even Roh’s foes. It just makes the story so interesting.

The story itself is creative and I enjoyed the world building of this world of Cyrens. I love how music was incorporated with the Cyrens kidnapping human musicians. I was engaged with how Roh was going to carry out her plans and see if her ambitions would make her do whatever it takes to win or she would learn other ways to accomplish her goals.

Triggers: death

Roh is a morally gray character so you either like her or you don’t. She is ambitious, but she has a fascinating backstory, or at least her mother does and I really know what Cerys’ story is. Odi seems to be changing Roh in some ways, softening her up when it comes to human interactions at least. Will she able to mend her friendship with her best friends though? I hope so.

I liked the trials of the Queen’s tournament but I think there could have been more intensity to it. At least with the first two. I did like the twist of the second trial, but the third was the most action packed of them all. I hope the series gets more intense with the second book and the next quest Roh embarks on.

It would be nice to have some kind of romance? But that’s a ME issue haha, because I love romance.

Why you should read it:

  • fascinating world of Cyrens (Sirens), detailed world building
  • a tournament to win the throne, competition
  • interesting characters
  • morally gray character

Why you might not want to read it:

  • no romance
  • some trials lacking in intensity

My Thoughts:

This is a really great start to a series and I’m surprised I loved it even with no romance in it. Roh’s journey is not over and I hope we get to learn more about the other characters in the book. They all stand out in their own way and I love that about the stories. I especially love this dark world of the Cyrens that the author has created and I eagerly look forward to reading the sequel.

📚 ~ Yolanda

2 thoughts on “A Lair of Bones (Curse of the Cyren Queen #1) by. Helen Scheuerer | Book Review

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.