Category: contemporary

A Dark and Starless Forest by. Sarah Hollowell | ARC Review

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2 Title: A Dark and Starless Forest Author: Sarah Hollowell Format: eBook (NetGalley) Pages: 320 Publication Date: 9/14/21 Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers Categories: Young Adult, Contemporary, Fantasy, Diversity, Magic, Paranormal Disclaimer: **I received this book free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.** Thank you to HMH Books…

The Hawthorne Legacy by. Jennifer Lynn Barnes | Book Review

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Title: The Hawthorne Legacy (The Inheritance Games, #2) Author: Jennifer Lynn Barnes Format: eBook (own) Pages: 368 Publication Date: 9/7/21 Publisher: Penguin Categories: Young Adult, Inheritance, Puzzles, Riddles, Mystery, Romance, Contemporary Intrigue, riches, and romance abound in this thrilling sequel to the New York Times bestselling The Inheritance Games perfect for fans of Karen McManus and Holly Jackson. The Inheritance Games ended…

Dial A for Aunties by. Jesse Q. Sutanto | Book Review

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2 Title: Dial A for Aunties Author: Jesse Q. Sutanto Format: eBook (borrowed) Pages: 299 Publication Date: 4/27/21 Publisher: Berkley Categories: Rom Com, Murder, Mystery, Family, Second Chance Romance, Contemporary What happens when you mix 1 (accidental) murder with 2 thousand wedding guests, and then toss in a possible curse on 3 generations of an immigrant Chinese-Indonesian family?…

Second First Impressions by. Sally Thorne | Book Review

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2 Title: Second First Impressions Author: Sally Thorne Format: eBook (borrowed) Pages: 352 Publication Date: 4/13/21 Publisher: William Morrow Categories: Romance, Contemporary Distraction (n): an extreme agitation of the mind or emotions. Ruthie Midona has worked the front desk at the Providence Luxury Retirement Villa for six years, dedicating her entire adult life to caring for the Villa’s…

Meet Me in Paradise by. Libby Hubscher | Book Review

My Rating: 4.5/5 Stars Title: Meet Me in Paradise Author: Libby Hubscher Format: eBook (borrowed) Pages: 350 Publication Date: 3/23/21 Publisher: Berkley Categories: Sisterhood, Family, Grief, Cancer, Romance Marin Cole has never: Seen the oceanClimbed a mountainTaken a risk on love ….But if her sister’s plan works, she just might do all three. Ever since her journalist mother died on assignment, Marin has…

Accidentally Engaged by. Farah Heron | Book Review

My Rating: 3/5 Stars Title: Accidentally Engaged Author: Farah Heron Format: eBook (borrowed) Pages: 357 Publication Date: 3/2/21 Publisher: Forever Categories: Romance, Cooking, Family, Fake-Dating, Muslim/Indian Representation, Contemporary Reena Manji doesn’t love her career, her single status, and most of all, her family inserting themselves into every detail of her life. But when caring for her precious sourdough starters, Reena…

Pumpkin by. Julie Murphy | Book Review

My Rating: 4/5 Stars Title: Pumpkin (Dumplin’, #3) Author: Julie Murphy Format: eBook (borrowed) Pages: 336 Publication Date: 5/25/21 Publisher: Blazer + Bray Categories: Young Adult, Body Image, LGBTQIA+, Romance, Coming of Age, Small Town, Contemporary Waylon Russell Brewer is a fat, openly gay boy stuck in the small West Texas town of Clover City. His plan is to bide…

Plot Twist | ARC Review

My Rating: 3.5/5 STARS Title: Plot Twist Author: Bethany Turner Format: eBook (NetGalley) Pages: 320 Publication Date: 6/14/21 Publisher: Thomas Nelson Categories: Christian Fiction, Women’s Fiction, Romance, Friendship Disclaimer: **I received this book free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.** February 4, 2003, is just another day for Olivia Ross—a greeting…

Float Plan by. Trish Doller | Book Review

My Rating: 3.5/5 Stars Title: Float Plan Author: Trish Doller Format: eBook (Overdrive Library) Pages: 272 Publication Date: 3/02/21 Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin Categories: Contemporary, Romance, Sailing, Grief, Mental Health Critically acclaimed author Trish Doller’s unforgettable and romantic adult debut about setting sail, starting over, and finding yourself… Since the loss of her fiancé, Anna has been shipwrecked by grief—until…

14 Ways to Die | ARC Review

My Rating: 3/5 Stars Title: 14 Ways to Die Author: Vincent Ralph Format: eBook (NetGalley) Pages: 384 Publication Date: 6/1/21 Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire Categories: Murder Mystery, Social Media, Young Adult, Contemporary Disclaimer: **I received this book free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.** A page-turning thriller for the social media age,…

Reading At Teatime

I read a lot, not just at teatime

Arts to Crafts

Fun Craft Ideas for All Ages

Read Betwixt Words

Books, Reviews, Recommendations and occasionally Poetry

The Fantastical World of Reading

Books | Reviews | Fantasy

THE CHRONICLES OF HISTORY

READING INTO THE PAST ... WELCOME TO MY HISTORY & BOOK BLOG!